Being Mihingare

A true expression of Mihingaretanga as found throughout Pāriha in Te Manawa o Te Wheke is in the worship we participate in as Te Whānau a Te Karaiti.

Mihingaretanga is an expression of Whakapono, Whakapapa, and whanaungatanga. The term Mihingare derives from the English word missionary. It was this mission tradition amongst Māori communities since the early 1800 which led to the Anglican Church in Aotearoa being known as Te Haahi Mihingare.

A photo of some Rangatahi posing

To be Mihingare is to believe and express the importance of both Christian and Māori values. These include but are not exclusive to: Aroha, Kotahitanga, Rangatiratanga, Manaakitanga, Kaitiakitanga, Whanaungatanga, Wairuatanga, Hohou Rongo, Whakapapa and Te Reo Māori.

Stained glass cross from St Faith's Ohinemutu

To be Mihingare is to be Christian. We believe in the Faith as set out in Ngā Whakapono o ngā Āpōtoro (The Apostles' Creed) and Te Whakapono o Nihaia (The Nicene Creed). We belong to God’s one holy catholic and apostolic Church, we hold fast to, and are guided through life by prayer and holy scripture, and we are nourished by the sacraments of Ihu Karaiti.

To be Mihingare is to be committed to Te Tiriti o Waitangi. The first Pākehā Missionaries of the Church Missionary Society had a great influence on the creation and support of Te Tiriti. Many Tūpuna Māori, by way of their own Christian faith, had great confidence in Te Tiriti by virtue of maintaining good relationships, and the document’s nature of covenant and governance as expressed in scripture. Because of this, Te Tiriti holds an important place in our constitution as a church, and we believe that it must be upheld so that all may flourish in this land.

The Anglican Comunion

Te Haahi Mihingare ki Aotearoa, Niu Tireni, me ngā Moutere o te Moana nui a Kiwa is a member of the Anglican Communion. In relationship with the See and Archbishop of Canterbury, “the Anglican Communion is a family of 42 autonomous and independent-yet-interdependent national, pan-national and regional churches.” (read more).

As a member of the Communion, we affirm the:
– Historic Episcopate (Whakapapa tuku iho o ngā Pīhopa);
– Ecumenical Creeds (Te Whakapono ngā Āpōtoro me Naihia);
– Holy Scriptures (Te Paipera Tapu);
– Dominical Sacraments (Te Iriiri i te ingoa o te Tokotoru Tapu me te Hākari Tapu).

Wide image of the Lambeth Conference

Find out more about being Mihingare